Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 21st, 2014

Nancy’s Story: Holidays

I know it’s been awhile since I shared, but we had a month and a half of holidays and birthdays and two trips to the hospital. 

My grandson’s birthday was a week before Thanksgiving, and then we had Hanukkah, Thanksgiving, my daughter’s birthday, Christmas and New Years. Throw into that mix holiday parties at Gilda’s, at my work, and a brunch we planned at our home and let’s not forget my brother’s wedding reception! I did not have time to get sick.

I made it through the beginning of December and we attended the holiday party at Gilda’s.  What a fun evening! Everyone who attended brought a dish to share (let’s not forget the elves in Gilda’s kitchen) and we enjoyed a performance by some Christmas carolers. It was a sparkling surreal evening. Made me want to go home and decorate. 

The sparkle didn’t last. The next day we had a meeting with a disability lawyer we met through a Gilda’s telecommunications series. I am contemplating retiring this summer and also needed to know my options for short term, long term disability, and family leave if needed, if I didn’t feel I could work through the winter and spring.  We left his office and started off to do some Christmas shopping.  I started not feeling well and we aborted the trip and went home. For the first time I made use of the emergency contact number at HUP.  Next day I was at my oncologist’s office having blood work, scans, physical exam etc.  It turns out that one of the side effects of taking Pazopanib is pancreatitis.

The renal cell cancer that I have had metastasized to my thyroid (removed), my lungs, my kidney (transplant), and my pancreas (partially removed). Pancreatitis is very painful and I got headaches and nausea. I was taken off the Pazopanib and stayed off it for two weeks. This made me very unhappy since the last scan I had early December showed that the drug had reduced my tumors as much as 50%.   

After two stays at HUP, the first right before Christmas and the second over New Years, I had a check up last week and found out the pancreas numbers are back to normal and I have resumed taking the trial drug at a lower dose, and am on a modified diet.  I am back to work and am excited about resuming my activities at Gilda’s.  This week Ellen and I will have a Reiki session at the club, our husbands will go to the men’s breakfast on Saturday, the topic being what you hope for in the New Year, plus we’llngo to Women Sharing Wisdom with Pam Ginsberg.

Through all this was the love and support of my family and friends. I guess I have to say the best was watching my Jewish son-in-law from Israel decorating my Christmas tree on Christmas Eve because he wanted to do something for me making him this year my Christmas miracle. Happy and healthy New Year to all of you and see you at the Club!!

 

Read Full Post »